Design of Faecal Sludge Treatment Plant for Industrial Park in Afghanistan

Page selection:
  • Fahim1988
    Topic Author
  • I am a civil engineer by background and have more than 14 years of work experience in field of water and sanitation in urban designs with the government and international NGOs.

Re: Design of Faecal Sludge Treatment Plant for Industrial Park in Afghanistan

Dear Mr. Chris;
The big amount of lots waste is grey water, which will flow in Sewerage Network to our main treatment plant. so we will have a small amount of Black water to be carried by Vehicles.
yeah we have considered same as your suggestion, that the organic waste will be carried by small trucks to the Co-Compost site.
As I think for a perfect digestion after holding tank (Not Septic tank) , the sludge need some time to be will digested. that's why we have selected Thickener and  ASR components. 

Thanks a lot for your time.
Sincerely,

Fahim Malekzai

Senior Sanitation Manager
Capital Region Independent Development Authority
Haji Yaqoub Squar, Kabul, Afghanistan
Mobile: +93799264027

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • canaday
  • A biologist working toward sustainability

Dear Fahim,

How is the project going?

I am sorry, but I would like to suggest that the program be reorganized from its bases, because transport of all this wastewater by truck does not seem to ecologically or economically sustainable and there is more than enough space for decentralized treatment in each of these very large lots. What would happen if the vacuum truck needs maintenance or lacks fuel? Many decentralized systems could certainly be built for the price of one vacuum truck.

More importantly, this is a great opportunity to showcase simple, inexpensive, decentralized technologies that are accessible to all Afghans who would like to apply them.