Introduction of Banza Toilet - waterless toilet, mobile urine diversion toilet (Kenya)

Page selection:
  • evemackinnon7
  • I am PhD student at UCL. My research is on risk management frameworks for container based sanitation systems. I shall be exploring the key public health risks to different groups using field based case studies to pilot risk management frameworks.

Re: Introduction of Banza Toilet - waterless toilet, mobile urine diversion toilet (Kenya)

Dear Banza,

This looks great, I have similiar questions to Doreen in terms of are you already providing this service? If so to how many people?

What about hand-washing provision - is it assumed?

Do you collect both poop and urine?

Do you have a transport and collection system?

Where do you treat the waste?

I am doing my PhD research on these systems to support there scale up- especially in terms of risk reduction to users and operators by identifying potential risks.

It would be great to learn more about your operations and potentially a feedback on some research conducted so far.

Kind Regards

Eve
Water and Sanitation Consultant
Energy - Sanitation Nexus
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
The following user(s) like this post: Carol McCreary

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Doreen

Re: Introduction of Banza Toilet - waterless toilet, mobile urine diversion toilet (Kenya)

Dear Banza Team,

Thanks. I have some questions.

- How is the emptying and transportation of the waste done?

- How frequent is the collection of the waste and where is it taken to?

- Have you tested it anywhere in Kenya and if yes, where particularly and what type of setting? households? schools?

- What was the user response after testing?

- How does one purchase a Banda toilet and how much is it?

Thanks and best regards,

Doreen
Doreen Mbalo

GIZ Sustainable Sanitation Programme
Policy Advisor in Bonn, Germany