Wikipedia online edit-a-thon on climate change topics, 24 November to 1 December (by CDKN and FCFA)

• Elisabeth
    Topic Author
  • I'm passionate about SuSanA's role in the WASH sector since about 2005. I'm a freelance consultant since 2012 (former roles: program manager, lecturer, process engineer for wastewater treatment plants)

Wikipedia online edit-a-thon on climate change topics, 24 November to 1 December (by CDKN and FCFA)

There is an interesting Wikipedia edit-a-thon coming up that I'd like to draw your attention to. It is aimed towards Wikipedia novices and African researchers with an interest in climate change. It's organised by CDKN (Climate & Development Knowledge Network) and Future Climate for Africa (FCFA).
More information here: https://cdkn.org/2020/11/news-join-our-online-edit-a-thon-to-contribute-climate-change-information-to-wikipedia/?loclang=en_gb

Why am I telling you about this even though their topic is not on WASH? Well, it's because I think it is up to us to insert content at the intersection of climate change and WASH into the relevant Wikipedia articles. We know there are a lot of links, for example climate change causing increased flooding, extreme weather events, water scarcity and what does that mean for the design of sanitation systems. Or the potential to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from septic tanks or wastewater treatment plants.

Or any of the other topics that we have discussed in this sub-category: https://forum.susana.org/195-climate-change-and-sanitation

It could be as simple as inserting the publications that people have discussed in this sub-category as references in the appropriate places in Wikipedia articles.

Further benefits of SuSanA members joining this online edit-a-thon include:
- We can see how they engage African researches in knowledge sharing
- You can improve your Wikipedia editing skills
- You can learn more about WASH and climate change and how they are interlinked