How can water and electricity be ensured in public toilets? (in India)

Page selection:
  • durba
  • I am a Gender-Water-Sanitation researcher who loves to engage with communities at the grassroots level. My work has been with slum communities in rural, urban, and peri-urban areas of Tamil Nadu and Karnataka.

Re: How can water and electricity be ensured in public toilets

Dear Nitya,

I am a part of a large international project which is applying an interdisciplinary framework to address the issue of wastewater and sanitation in rural Karnataka. It was recently launched and you can read a bit more about it here: timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/mysuru/...cleshow/66871109.cms

The objective of the project was to design and build a system which is low cost, low-energy, treats black water through multiple stages and reuses treated greywater in the toilets for flushing. to account for the power needs of the system (to run a few pumps and a micro incinerator in the girls' toilet for disposing of sanitary pads), solar panels have been installed.

the system has just been handed over to the school and we will be working with the school, community, and the School Development and Management Committee for at least one more year to establish sustainable maintenance plan.

I would be happy to share future developments from the project.

Regards,
Durba
Durba Biswas
Fellow,
Centre for Environment and Development
Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment (ATREE)
Royal Enclave, Srirampura, Jakkur Post
Bangalore, 560064, India

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • nityajacob
    Topic Author
  • Water Policy Analyst and Author; Moderator of the SuSanA India Chapter; WASH Lead at Swasti

Re: Reply for - How can water and electricity be ensured in public toilets or alternates given till it can be provided adequately .

Hi