Tools for the generation of sanitation systems considering novel technology options and for the quantification of nutrient, water, and total solid balances at the scale of an urban setting

26.6k views

Page selection:
  • Heiner
  • I am a retired organic farmer and interested in nutrient cycles. As an volunteer I now travel mainly to poor countries and together with locals I would like to find new ways of sustainable agriculture. This is beyond the regulations of IFOAM.

Re: Tools for the generation of sanitation systems considering novel technology options and for the quantification of nutrient, water, and total solid balances at the scale of an urban setting

Dear Dorothee,

thanks for your reply! Please keep me informed if you get in contact with the FibL guys. I know within the organic scene is quite a strong resistance to this topic. Although they all talk about "closing the loop". But in their opinion they close the loop by composting the shit of the cows. It is a bit ridiculous when you balance the production of a farm. But the organic food ist branded and labled as "clean food" and all the consultants and companies who earn millions of euros every year have no interest nor understanding in nutrient circles as they exist in nature.
Urs Niggli, the former and now retired Director, was a bit different and I wonder who will answer you now........

After I receive my second  shot (in June) I'll go to Finizio guys and we have a lot to talk. You mentioned the losses of the process.....

What came up in my mind by a TV report and discussion (scobel) ist the importance of fungi in the process of composting feces. I had a short exchange with an scientist in Germany. They work hard on it and have good results on decomposing pharmaceuticals and start even now on plastic. And if the temperature in this process is high enough for a short time, even the beloved ascaris might have a hard time.