Blog: More than 6.2: Highlighting WASH in other SDGs

Page selection:
  • reidharvey7734
  • I am a ceramic industrial designer focused on environmental health and development. Ceramics is ideally suited to addressing the urgent needs of low-income communities and countries. Those embracing ceramic developments will industrialize, gaining resilience and self-sufficiency.

Re: Blog: More than 6.2: Highlighting WASH in other SDGs

Thanks Sruthi, your message is greatly appreciated.  Please be assured of some answers.  The research has been very simple and is largely complete, with the introduction of 2-piece insulating rocket stoves.  These are indeed *affordable,* especially when produced by the local potters. The upper liner of these is interchangeable for cook pots of sizes from the smallest to the largest.  There is more description at the web page of Africa Prosperity,  www.resiliencie.com

I hasten to say that anyone who is getting improved cook stoves to those in need is doing something wonderful and needs to be commended.  There is a serious need for the sake of sustainability, however, to train the ubiquitous potters in the production of sustainable stoves!  Otherwise we may have much the same discussion in the decades to come.

What is needed for a proper insulating ceramic is a combination of 50/50 powders of clay and fine-grained combustible.  Unfortunately, there has been a lack of formal discussion!  Some experts have even sought supposed *lightweight clays* as an answer.  No!  Use 50/50, powders of fine-grained combustible and clayThe fine particle size gives more bonding between clay particles, resulting in really
good strength.  Ask ceramic educators!  This is not rocket science! 
Forgive the bold-faced text but this is basic, formal ceramic knowledge.  Many potters have good understanding but there is no substitute for formal education.