Silt Trap Design for Tanker Discharge Station

Page selection:
  • AjitSeshadri
  • Marine Chief Engineer by profession (1971- present) and at present Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, Chennai, India. Also proficient in giving Environmental solutions , Designation- Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Head- Environment, The Vigyan Vijay Foundation, NGO, New Delhi, INDIA , Consultant located at present at Chennai, India

Re: Silt Trap Design for Tanker Discharge Station

Dear SuSanA Member Mr Patrick and other keen Members:
Sewage is definitely liquid enough to flow, when gradient is given less than 1:50,  
Removals of silt per se, will be difficult, in a tank if left undisturbed for a few hours, van settle sludges heavier than sg say 1.5. 
It is possible to separate silt matter if the flush water in sewage liquid flow is copious.
However, if silt says in the FS mixture,  it means no harm, as it is earth matter and can return to soil.
Well wishes 
Prof Ajit Seshadri 
Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, and
Head-Environment , VigyanVijay Foundation, Consultant (Water shed Mngmnt, WWT, WASH, others)Located at present at Chennai, India

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Muda
  • Topic Author

Good day JK

The sewage is liquid enough yes. The client is insisting on silt removal. I have  some basic detail from some one who put up one. I am still developing it and I will share once it has been fully developed. I ntend to put it after the grit removal system (vortex) .

Regards

Patrick
The following user(s) like this post: AjitSeshadri

• JKMakowka
  • Just call me Kris :)

The sewerage entering the system is liquid enough for something like a vortex separator / hydro-cyclone to work?

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydrocyclone

• ronmartinjr
  • Environmental Engineer performing process design of water and wastewater treatment systems and water and sanitation solutions.

Hi Patrick,