New working group co-lead for the SuSanA Working Group on Groundwater Protection (WG11)

11.4k views

Page selection:
  • karengrothe

Re: New working group co-lead

Dear SuSanA Working Group Members

I am pleased to accept the invitation to become Working Group Lead for the SuSanA Working Group on Groundwater Protection (WG11), a task I share with Leif Wolf from KIT, Germany, as you can see here.

My background
I am a chemical engineer and civil engineer by training, but have focused on the challenges of understanding and managing groundwater for now more than 25 years. Currently, I am a Principal Researcher at IWMI, International Water Management Institute, where I lead the groundwater research group. I also coordinate the Groundwater Solutions Initiative for Policy and Practice (GRIPP), a global partnership of about 30 international organizations collaborating to enhance the sustainable use and management of groundwater.

Groundwater is under increasing stress, from various threats related to both quantity and quality. Improper sanitation is a major factor influencing groundwater around the world. There are appropriate ways to deal with this, though often these are not taken into account as communities grow into towns and towns grow into cities. With SuSanA and others, I am getting more involved in the sanitation issues and linkages to groundwater, and exploring how we can improve the situation.

I am happy to be co-leading this group, and I look forward to interacting with you. Leif and I will be back later this year as we update the Factsheet for the Working Group. We also hope to work on concrete solutions in collaboration with other working groups, with GRIPP and other interested parties. Feel free to enter into the discussion online and bring forward comments, input and suggestions at any time. I am looking forward to a fruitful discussion and collaboration with the working group and the wider SuSanA.

Best regards,
Karen