Faecal Sludge Field Laboratory - Discussions

Page selection:
  • jbousek
    Topic Author
  • emergency WASH expert, FSM focus, biotechnologist by trade

Re: Faecal Sludge Field Laboratory - Discussions

The Faecal Sludge Field Laboratory will host a demonstration session at the IFRC Digital Data Week

DATE: 20.04.2021; 3 pm to 4 pm ->  please check the agenda

We will present the evolution of the FSFL’s laboratory data management from working with spread sheets to the adaption of an open-source LIMS in the  FSFL IMS project .
Please register to attend the presentation!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • jbousek
    Topic Author

Dear Paresh, 
The FSFL was used in trainings in Kampala, Uganda (with Uganda Red Cross Society), and in Spiez, Switzerland (with Swiss Humanitarian Aid). Both labs are in storage and will be used again. The first „live“ deployment was in Cox’s Bazar. We (as part of IFRC) set up the lab in 2019 and to my knowledge the lab is still in use. The prototype used in the field test in Malawi 2017 was at least used until 2019. Feedback for those deployments and trainings led to the overhaul of the equipment list. 

The equipment list was changed extensively and thus the following points are only a quick overview:   
  • Consumables from 100 – 150 → shipping to Cox’s Bazar was time consuming; thus an increased amount of consumables allows longer operation of the lab   
  • Change from a manual centrifuge to an electrical → manual centrifugation was just to time consuming.    
  • Addition of new parameters (e.g.: Biochemical oxygen demand, Total dissolved solids) due to feedback of practitioners   
  • Changes in analytical methods → e.g. for bacteriological analysis we went from membrane filtration to direct plating
Future plans:   
  • The Austrian Red Cross has started a project to adapt a laboratory information management software