How do we cause sludge to precipitate? Question from Lesotho

Page selection:
  • F H Mughal
  • Senior Water and Sanitation Engineer

Re: HOW DO WE CAUSE SLUGE TO PRECIPITATE?? precipitate

Dear Tsepo,

Please have a look at the attached publications. They give a good insight in sludge conditioning.
I trust, you will find them useful.

Regards,

F H Mughal
F H Mughal (Mr.)
Karachi, Pakistan

This message has attachments files.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • JKMakowka
  • Just call me Kris :)

Tsepo wrote: In my search I found this link
www.researchgate.net/post/How_to_dissolve_precipitated_sludge2

Can anyone please elaborate on it for me. Reiterating what I mentioned earlier (I'm just an entrepreneur not scientist)

As far as I can tell this has nothing to do with what you want to do (but is rather about re-suspending a precipitate in a chemical reaction in a laboratory).

There are various products (Alum, Ferric-chloride, Lime, Chitosan, other commercial polymers etc.) available to improve thickening sludge in a sludge drying bed, but the material dug out of pit-latrines is notoriously difficult to de-water especially when a large part of it is still relatively "fresh".
In any case, such additions will just speed up the process a bit, and if you have sufficient space in your drying bed they are rarely cost efficient (and Alum for example will cause issues in the final sludge disposal as Chis Canaday has already suggested).

From low cost/low maintenance point of view "planted sludge drying beds" (with no chemical additives; see chapter in the book linked above) are probably the best idea for a setting like you have in Lesotho. No need to actually use the plants (reed, papyrus, elephant grass etc.) grown in it for anything, but as Chris mentioned those can be an additional source of income which from an entrepreneurial point of view shouldn't be missed.

• canaday