Using integrity as a means to push for action on WASH in schools

10k views

Page selection:
  • CharlotteM
  • Marketer by profession. Expertise in sanitation social marketing targeting behavior change and positive uptake of water and sanitation projects for sustainability and maximum impact.

Re: Using integrity as a means to push for action on WASH in schools

Dear Alisa,

Thank you for your post. Quite interesting about the use of compost toilets in schools. Just a few questions to better understand how your project is interacting with the community.

Would you be kind to elaborate:
- How you are tackling the issue of toilet to student ratio? From your post, the school population is quite large.
- Are you fully funding the construction of the toilets?
- What is the method of cleaning that the students are using?
- To ensure that the waste is dry, are you using any drying agents?

You have mentioned that: “…After much debate — the schools in the pilot program and the implementing partner (Welthungerhilfe) finally decided to have the students participate in cleaning and managing the compost toilet system. The local government supports the program.” Which means of support is the local government offering?

How would you then anchor integrity? Would it be on the better sanitation provided or the school family (parents, teachers, students) understanding that they need better sanitation and they are accountable for it?

Looking forward to your response.

Regards
Charlotte
Charlotte Mong'ina Maua
Water and Sanitation Consultant

M +254 (0) 723 571 463
E This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
L: Nairobi, Kenya

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • WIN
    Topic Author

Thanks so much for sharing your experiences!