Production of candle water filters in Burundi

Page selection:
  • reidharvey7734
    Topic Author
  • I am a ceramic industrial designer focused on environmental health and development. Ceramics is ideally suited to addressing the urgent needs of low-income communities and countries. Those embracing ceramic developments will industrialize, gaining resilience and self-sufficiency.

Re: Production of candle water filters in Burundi

Greetings All, again, you are the best!  Please have a look at the presentation of this link. Nearly all of the SDGs are addressed squarely through simple ceramic production and implementation, starting with SDG1, No Poverty.  Those impoverished are both capable and eager to learn.
Insulatingrocket stoves and candle water filters - IDP trainings.pdf - Google Drive
All the best, Reid
Anthony Reid Harvey, ceramic industrial designer
Africa Prosperity Inc.
Niagara Falls, NY USA
Here is a video presentation that gives an overview of ceramic WASH and development interventions:
Harvey, Anthony Reid (2021): Sanitary stoneware toilets: production closer to the need. Loughborough University. Conference contribution. hdl.handle.net/2134/16941193.v1

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Fesvit

Thanks Anthony,

Is there a training (video or guide) on the production. I want to teach rural women in Nigeria who have less access to clean water. I and my team at hsain.org will be glad to take up this course. I can be reached at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Thanks!

• reidharvey7734
    Topic Author
  • I am a ceramic industrial designer focused on environmental health and development. Ceramics is ideally suited to addressing the urgent needs of low-income communities and countries. Those embracing ceramic developments will industrialize, gaining resilience and self-sufficiency.