Safely managed sanitation in small towns - What experiences of full sanitation chain in small towns do we know?

Page selection:
  • simonbaty

Re: Safely managed sanitation in small towns: An analysis of knowledge and experiences from developing countries

Hello everyone,

I am an intern currently working at pS-Eau on this research on sanitation in small towns.
By “small town” we are trying to consider towns that are sufficiently dense to be out of the rural perimeter, with a growing population and economy and which are starting to adopt urban characteristics while still having some rural practices. Faecal sludge management is generally not functional in these small towns, as viability (technological, financial etc.) of the services is a challenge. To give a global order of magnitude, we are considering towns with a population ranging from 3,000 to 100,000 (more or less) inhabitants.

The study realised by the group of students from Cranfield University allowed us to get a first overview of the existing experiences described by the literature as well as an idea of the challenges related to the development of sanitation services in small towns. The group’s study gave us good knowledge about this through a literature review and several interviews of key sanitation experts.
Considering this study, I am now going on with it in order to identify other interesting experiences of sanitation in small towns, especially by trying to find some areas where we can get some information from the literature about the actual situation of the services. This will allow us to go further from development project and consider as well settlements where organized FSM exist without having been developed by external organisations.