Developing Operational Management Software for a Social Business – any advice?

Page selection:
  • cremington
    Topic Author

Re: Developing Operational Management Software for a Social Business – any advice?

Thanks! That was my take on the drupal system, too. If as a novice developer I found drupal too complicated, it probably would be more trouble than it is worth to design compatibility for all our different users.

Thank you for sharing the USAID guide. I'll take a look at it. We've run into a few healthcare-related software developers (e.g. www.commcarehq.org/), but nothing specific to sanitation social businesses (yet!).

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • former member

Re: Developing Operational Management Software for a Social Business – any advice?

Hi,

Great initiative! Also, I like the drupal system which is easy to modify based on your needs.

You could let the franchisees work with the drupal system as well but from my experience this might be too complicated for them.

I remember a financial and record keeping guide for (medicine) franchisees, from a USAID funded project. www.sf4health.org/sites/sf4health.org/fi...rd-keeping-guide.pdf

The content is easy to understand, with some exercises and examples. Maybe you can use this format as input for your own system?

++++++++
Note by moderators: This post was made by a former user with the login name nickveldwijk who is no longer a member of this discussion forum.

• JKMakowka
  • Just call me Kris :)

Drupal is a very widely used web framework and it should be therefore relatively easy to find an developer to make the necessary changes you need to the erpal or other modules.

I am personally not an expert on this, but drupal's user permission system is quite extensive and since it it all open source making a franchise compatible version should also be possible.

• cremington
    Topic Author