Sanitation worker, waste collector, manual scavenger - same thing? One, two or three Wikipedia articles?

14.9k views

Page selection:
  • EMary
  • A researcher by profession. Experienced in content creation, research, training and project management and coordination in the Sanitation sector.

Re: Sanitation worker, waste collector, manual scavenger - same thing? One, two or three Wikipedia articles?

The recently announced scheme of "Garima" by the Odisha Government in India for the Sanitation Workers called GARIMA  .

This scheme targets the core sanitation workers who " ... work in cleaning & maintenance of toilets, drains, sewer systems, septic tanks, septage and sewage treatment facilities in unsafe and undignified work conditions dealing directly with human feacal matter and suffer from social stigmas attached to these critical but essential public services. " ( Reference )

So at a policy level in India, Sanitation Workers is a more recognised term for people working specifically in the sanitation side over waste collector or manual scavenger.

Best,

Eva
Eva Mary

Program Coordinator
Programs and Administration
Faecal Sludge Management Alliance
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • EMary
  • A researcher by profession. Experienced in content creation, research, training and project management and coordination in the Sanitation sector.

Re: Sanitation worker, waste collector, manual scavenger - same thing? One, two or three Wikipedia articles?

Hey Elizabeth,

Yes, the twitter link was on Sanitation Health Workers, but they are not hospital employees per se, rather the municipality sanitation workers who are normally engaged in the solid waste collection and who are now being retrained for the new role and care they must take on.

On the job advert from SA, I would read it the same way as you and may also include decontamination.