CLTS doesn't lead to sustainable safe sanitation & hygiene - Study by Plan Australia

30.5k views

Page selection:
  • sengel
  • I'm a lecturer at the Uni of Wollongong in Australia, with a growing interest in the politics and sociology of sanitation

Re: CLTS doesn't lead to sustainable safe sanitation & hygiene - Study by Plan Australia

What this thread about the methodology of the Plan Australia study indirectly reveals is the very limited research into the long term outcomes of CLTS and how important this is. My own research with Anggun Susilo on Indonesia, which there's a link too on the thread on CLTS and human rights (see: forum.susana.org/forum/categories/5-clts...mit=12&start=24#7279), led us to believe that sustainability could be a concern in a number of fronts, the lack of focus on emptying services being one. However our main focus was in the use of shaming, fines and sanctions mostly employed against the poorest in the communities we studied. Our analysis suggested that this approach was unlikely to produce long term behaviour change as similar approaches used in colonial times in Indonesia had not. Equally to link to the human rights issue raised earlier in this thread, we see that the shaming techniques impinged on the rights of villagers. In terms of practical suggestions, how about ending the use of fines, taunting and sanctions against poor and often vulnerable households. It's no more than school yard bullying legitimised by program goals.

Susan Engel
University of Wollongong
The following user(s) like this post: pjbury

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • paultyndale

Re: CLTS doesn't lead to sustainable safe sanitation & hygiene - Study by Plan Australia

A couple of points in response:

Firstly, the discussion of sustainability in this thread came not from the factor analysis part of the study but the (purely observational) data from the re-verification phase.

Secondly, on the study methodology: