Discussion of "colonial language" in the WASH sector?

Page selection:
  • reidharvey7734
    Topic Author
  • I am a ceramic industrial designer focused on environmental health and development. Ceramics is ideally suited to addressing the urgent needs of low-income communities and countries. Those embracing ceramic developments will industrialize, gaining resilience and self-sufficiency.

Re: Discussion of "colonial language" in the WASH sector?

Please checkout this video, in support of my assertion that impoverished potters are capable of fabricating insulating ceramic rocket stoves.  I have little doubt that the woman potter shown could make the insulating rocket stoves of my postings, with a training
of 3 to 5 days only, allowing for the further drying time of molds and bricks. 
 The stove she could produce would arguably be best practice and would be affordable in their economy.  There is an urgent need for the policy makers of clean cookstoves to allow for verification of the evidence-base, on a per project basis, based on sound prototypes.  A part of the evidence base must be affordability to the poor!

I stand by my assertion, suggested by the criticism of the first sentence following, my point in the last sentence of this. “This lens descends into condescension even when purporting to extend recognition to the communities in question: "Fortuitouslymany impoverished potters are highly skilled."; "They tend to be entirely capable of production...".

I am incredulous of criticism.  The criticism is more apt to be what is condescending.  The potters’ skills is fortuitous because ceramics and the high temperature processes are at the starting point of industry and prosperity that could industrialize their
countries.  Is this not fortuity??  Perhaps I should have re-iterated the point about industrialization as well.  Since I have no doubt that the critics are well intentioned, I can only imagine that I have not properly articulated my points.