Is treatment required for harvested rainwater for toilet flushing?

Page selection:
  • AjitSeshadri
  • Marine Chief Engineer by profession (1971- present) and at present Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, Chennai, India. Also proficient in giving Environmental solutions , Designation- Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Head- Environment, The Vigyan Vijay Foundation, NGO, New Delhi, INDIA , Consultant located at present at Chennai, India

Re: Reply: Rainwater for toilet flushing

Dear Kurian/ Jenny:
We appreciate your sharing info on RWH water for drinking,
If community want to be more safe then they can use a candle filter and UV filter.
It will not be expensive and power consumed also less.
well wishes.
Ajit Seshadri
Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, and
Head-Environment , VigyanVijay Foundation, Consultant (Water shed Mngmnt, WWT, WASH, others)Located at present at Chennai, India

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • kurian

Hello Jenny,
We have been extensively using harvested rainwater for drinking by adopting various technology options, which include roof top harvesting to recharge open dug wells, a major source of drinking water for Kerala State, India. Rainwater, if harvested scientifically following protocols is one of the purest form of drinking water.
Please see the link
www.ircwash.org/news/india-kerala-mazhap...amme-%E2%80%93-video

Also please see a manual attached

This message has an attachment file.
Please log in or register to see it.

The following user(s) like this post: AjitSeshadri

• Jennykay333
  • Topic Author
  • A civil engineer from UK currently working in Rwanda

Re: Rainwater for toilet flushing

Thanks Ajit. So it seems that disinfection is not always seen as a necessity. Or maybe this just depends on person to person as to whether they think it is required?
A civil engineer from UK currently working in Rwanda

• AjitSeshadri