Deeper Self Perception Behaviour Change Barriers - Looking beyond short sighted commercial marketing behaviour change (India and caste issues)

Page selection:
  • sengel
  • I'm a lecturer at the Uni of Wollongong in Australia, with a growing interest in the politics and sociology of sanitation

Re: Deeper Self Perception Behaviour Change Barriers - Looking beyond short sighted commercial marketing behaviour change

Dear Lucas and Depinder,

Sorry for the late joining but wanted to say thanks for this great conversation, I've learned a lot. I recently met some wonderful Dalit right's activists campaigning to have caste or heredity discrimination recognised internationally so I have been thinking about the topic.

I wanted to chuck in that my own research does precisely highlight the problems of the assumption of homogenous rural communities in CLTS and related approaches as well as the problems of shaming the poor - who already suffer from high levels of shame and how harmful this is to their psycho-social well-being (see Shaming and Sanitation in Indonesia: A Return to Colonial Public Health Practices? onlinelibrary-wiley-com.ezproxy.uow.edu....s/10.1111/dech.12075 and To Shame or Not to Shame? That is the Sanitation Question’ onlinelibrary-wiley-com.ezproxy.uow.edu....oi/10.1111/dpr.12317). They are behind paywalls sorry, but always happy to email copies to anyone.

Cheers,
Susan

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • moslerha

Re: Deeper Self Perception Behaviour Change Barriers - Looking beyond short sighted commercial marketing behaviour change

Dear Depinder and Matt,

actually we are conducting a project on open defecation in India using the RANAS approach. We have first baseline data and will publish it soon.