Resource recovery from faecal sludge as a solid fuel. So many technology options, but how to decide?

Page selection:
  • AjitSeshadri
  • Marine Chief Engineer by profession (1971- present) and at present Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, Chennai, India. Also proficient in giving Environmental solutions , Designation- Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Head- Environment, The Vigyan Vijay Foundation, NGO, New Delhi, INDIA , Consultant located at present at Chennai, India

Re: Resource recovery from faecal sludge as a solid fuel. So many technology options, but how to decide?

Dear Nienke and Members.

It is very apt to use dried, cured and safe FSS from different routes as solid fuel.

Ideally made as briquettes with bio- mass, fillers viz agri waste and this FSS- mass,

All thse  can be used by communities.

Another route is this FSS- Mass is loaded with other bio - solid fuel in brick kilns and duly fired .
Furnaces of brick- kiln in shape and design of - Up draft bio mass gassifier is also in use. 

Ash and sweepings ex site floors and others are also fed into the raw matter with mud clay, soil and raw bricks made prior baking at the kiln.

Adaptations  of the following products can researched and developed .
They are as below :
1. As raw fuel,
2. Raw matter for casting bricks / special tiles Etc.
3. Soil enrichner, nutrients,

The above can be developed for future products and projects using- NSS FSS and aspiring for sustainable closure of projects loop.

Well wishes
Ajit Seshadri. 
Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, and
Head-Environment , VigyanVijay Foundation, Consultant (Water shed Mngmnt, WWT, WASH, others)Located at present at Chennai, India

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • NAndriessen
    Topic Author
  • Faecal sludge enthusiast at Sandec/Eawag

Re: Resource recovery from faecal sludge as a solid fuel. So many technology options, but how to decide?

Hi Elisabeth,