A non-stick surface to be used in redesigning the toilet - inspired Biomimicry

Page selection:
  • tmsinnovation
    Topic Author
  • I manage the Decentralized Wastewater Management for Adaptation to Climate Change in Jordan (ACC Project) and previously coordinated the Climate-friendly sanitation services in peri-urban areas of Lusaka project in Zambia. My background is in Management, Economics and Information Systems.

A non-stick surface to be used in redesigning the toilet - inspired Biomimicry

I recently read this article about biomimicry and came across the following non-stick surface that has been developed and inspired by the Pitcher Plant. On reading this I was reminded of a comment that Neil MacLeod made during a presentation at the Swedish Water House in 2011, about finding a material that faeces could not stick to, to transport them an entire half a metre until gravity could take charge in modern day plumbing. (The presentation I am referring to can be found here: susana.org/lang-en/videos-and-photos/resource-material-video). Hence me wondering if the material described in the article that I quote below could be a step in the right direction and perhaps the material Neil MacLeod has been looking for.

Pitcher Plant. This swamp-dwelling plant lives in soil conditions that are nutrient poor and has evolved to get its daily requirements in another way -- by putting meat on the menu. It captures insects by trapping them in its watery bowl where they are dissolved and absorbed by the plant. The lipped bowl, a modified leaf, is effective, in part, because of its ultra slippery surface.

The scientists at the Aizenberg Lab of the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard were looking for a slick natural surface material and the Pitcher Plant emerged as their top candidate for study. Their initial goal was to synthesize a material that was "omniphobic," that repelled everything.