Pause before pushing more people to ODF (open defecation free)

34.2k views

Page selection:
  • AjitSeshadri
  • Marine Chief Engineer by profession (1971- present) and at present Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, Chennai, India. Also proficient in giving Environmental solutions , Designation- Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Head- Environment, The Vigyan Vijay Foundation, NGO, New Delhi, INDIA , Consultant located at present at Chennai, India

Re: Pause before pushing more people to ODF

Dear Paresh,

Many thanks for assessing my suggestion on the practice of COD, for the interim period, till the firm arrangements of toilets and or Community Toilet complexes are implemented in communities.

It may be gathered that making of toilets is not a one of task, however it needs to be combined with many other factors, for these toilet facilities to be of service to communities. viz water, power and others.
The compliance to rules and regulations can not be totally rigid.  Till the facilities are forthcoming, a do - able option is needed, so that communities do not face hardship.

It has been expressed well by Ar. Paresh that COD practice, is labour intensive and manual work, is needed for O and M of the spaces. 
However with prudent awareness and training, the adapted  COD practice can be progressed well in a safe and sustainable mode, in these present pandemic times too.

In following this COD practice, the service spaces are kept clean and clear, sludges are re-used and health and hygiene realised well with SDGs and GoI protocols .

With well wishes.
Ajit Seshadri
The Vigyan Vijay Foundation. 
Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, and
Head-Environment , VigyanVijay Foundation, Consultant (Water shed Mngmnt, WWT, WASH, others)Located at present at Chennai, India

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • paresh