Evaluating the Physicochemical, Nutrient, and Pathogenic Characteristics of Fecal Sludge for Fertilizer Application: Case from Vadgaon Maval, Maharashtra, India

Page selection:
  • Chandana
    Topic Author
  • I am a Environmental Engineer, currently pursing PhD in Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay. I am working on Faecal Sludge Management for a town. I am looking for collaboration to provide solution for FSM by experimental investigation on FS from different onsite containment and paper publications.

Re: Evaluating the Physicochemical, Nutrient, and Pathogenic Characteristics of Fecal Sludge for Fertilizer Application: Case from Vadgaon Maval, Maharashtra, India

Dear Elisabeth

Thanks for such a encouraging word.
Yes, others studies has been my literature, I learnt and understood a lot from these studies. My study confirms the fertilizer qualities of fecal sludge and the main hindrance is the high pathogen content for its utilization for Indian condition. In addition, this study provides different treatment system required to reduce the pathogen content.  Based on local conditions of case study, unplanted drying bed and co-composting were selected as treatment process.

"Methods to reliably estimate faecal sludge quantities and qualities for the design of treatment technologies and management solutions" has been used in my research work but not in this paper. 

Regards
Chandana

I have completed my BE in civil engineering with a distinction in 2011.
From 2011-2013 I worked as a software engineer in IBM.
later I completed my master in environmental engineering in NIT Warangal . My Mtech thesis was done in NEERI, Nagpur on "Indoor air pollution in micro-environments".
In 2015. I joined academics as Assistant professor and worked on issues like the design of landfill, MSW management, Air pollution, Decontamination of geomaterials, etc.
Currently, I am doing my PhD in faecal sludge management.

Please Log in to join the conversation.