Examples of ecological sanitation at scale

Page selection:
  • tmsinnovation
  • I manage the Decentralized Wastewater Management for Adaptation to Climate Change in Jordan (ACC Project) and previously coordinated the Climate-friendly sanitation services in peri-urban areas of Lusaka project in Zambia. My background is in Management, Economics and Information Systems.

Re: Examples of ecological sanitation at scale

Hi Jonathan

Thank you for your reply.

Following the logic of your previous post, could it be said that the eThekwini Basic Water and Sanitation programme, with the verified 75.000 UDDT installations, is becoming an ecological sanitation programme at scale?

The following two points should be read with the question;
1. Although the initial strategy of eThekwini was not focussed on ecological sanitation and the reason for chosing UDDT's for the programme was due to the associated cost benefit, as unlike VIPs, UDDTs do not require a tanker truck to remove / empty facael sludge. This said, strategies are not static, so now with all these UDDTs installed, an opportunity exists to take the next logical step and further investigate the cost benefit of re-use.
2. The ongoing research through the VUNA project into the cost-benefit of urine reuse in eThekwini.

Does this fit the step by step approach that we have been discussing here?

Rgds
Trevor
Trevor Surridge
Decentralized Wastewater Management for Adaptation to Climate Change in Jordan (ACC Project)
Project Manager

Deutsche Gesellschaft für
Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Ministry of Water and Irrigation, Shmeisani,
Amman
Jordan

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • jonpar
    Topic Author