From poo to food: Kenyan toilet waste key for new animal feed - Black Soldier Fly technology

Page selection:
  • AjitSeshadri
    Topic Author
  • Marine Chief Engineer by profession (1971- present) and at present Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, Chennai, India. Also proficient in giving Environmental solutions , Designation- Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Head- Environment, The Vigyan Vijay Foundation, NGO, New Delhi, INDIA , Consultant located at present at Chennai, India

Re: Press release report on fly larvae in Kenya

Dear Elisabeth,
In response to your query, I submit my reply as below:
Pl find link to see all details referred by me,
I did see it in our local newspaper The Hindu Chennai Edition Dtd. 17th July 2019 ..
I have brought out the reference as given by < reuters.com > in their website :
af.reuters.com/article/topNews/idAFKCN1TI1CT-OZATP
Pl peruse same, for details,
Our inference:
We in India, a developing country , try and develop: do-able, simple, low-tech, fail-safe practices for providing Environmental solutions.
I did notice that this Kenyan - practice " poo to food " very adaptable and easily do-able, with minimal efforts. The article also gave WB data on Kenyan urban-settlements, having poor sanitation and their project - experience Etc.

If it has succeeded in Nairobi, Kenya in a poultry farm, it is suggested to be show-cased by us, after getting more project- details.
And there is a need to study further and develop this practice, for the benefit of communities in countries like India and others.

with best regards,
Ajit Seshadri
Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, and
Head-Environment , VigyanVijay Foundation, Consultant (Water shed Mngmnt, WWT, WASH, others)Located at present at Chennai, India

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Elisabeth