Capacity Building vs Handholding: how to avoid dependency syndrome

Page selection:
  • Sibongile
    Topic Author
  • I work as a Business Development Lead for Water and Sanitation for the Urban Poor(Zambia). My key role is leading the Faecal Sludge Management business in Peri Urban Areas in Lusaka and promoting practices that will make the business financially viable

Re: Capacity Building vs Handholding: how to avoid dependency syndrome

Dear Chaiwe,

You will notice that i briefly touched on this under point 3 of the article. "Strive for a blended finance or parallel in-kind contributionIn practice, this discussion will naturally occur simultaneously while co-designing the project. At the chartering meeting, strive to get the utility to invest their own financial or in-kind resources for sustainability, again reinforcing shared ownership of the project and its outcomes.Depending on where the utility is in their budgetary cycle when you approach them, financial resources may not be readily available or at best they may be willing to make a very small contribution"
Utilities may not always have financial resources available to you get them to commit an in kind contribution (allocating staff to the project, training etc). Once the project kicks off, you get them to ring-fence a percentage of proceeds so those fund can be used for reinvestment purposes Regards 

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Chaiwe
  • Innovation enthusiast and Knowledge Management Expert in WASH and Climate Change while cross-cutting Youth and Gender Issues. CEO of CaDev_Capacity Development (An African Social Enterprise)

Re: Capacity Building vs Handholding: how to avoid dependency syndrome

Dear Sibo,

This topic relates closely to one currently running in this thread. forum.susana.org/196-capacity-developmen...ash-sector-knowledge in a way one thing leads to another. In this case, the 'dependency' within the WASH sector is what leads to 'colonisation'.