Container gardening - a technology for low-income areas?

Page selection:
  • tmsinnovation
  • I manage the Decentralized Wastewater Management for Adaptation to Climate Change in Jordan (ACC Project) and previously coordinated the Climate-friendly sanitation services in peri-urban areas of Lusaka project in Zambia. My background is in Management, Economics and Information Systems.

Re: Container gardening - a technology for low-income areas?

Nice video. I wonder whether TetraPak the company would be interested to know about such an initiative and whether they would support it, or not?
Trevor Surridge
Decentralized Wastewater Management for Adaptation to Climate Change in Jordan (ACC Project)
Project Manager

Deutsche Gesellschaft für
Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Ministry of Water and Irrigation, Shmeisani,
Amman
Jordan

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • jkeichholz

Or, if containers are too expensive, stones can also be used to build raised-bed gardens like explained in this story I once did for AfriGadget:

www.afrigadget.com/2008/07/05/keyhole-gardens/

#limited space
#reuse of (untreated) grey water
Juergen Eichholz
watsan eng.
water, sanitation, IT & knowledge management
www.saniblog.org

Toilets in Frankfurt/Main www.facebook.com/ffmtoi

• christian.rieck
    Topic Author

Dear Paul,
I do agree that this technology and approach can prove interesting for the discussion in the urban planning working group (WG 6 cities). However I did not get any feedback from this side through the mailing list. Maybe we need more fascinating examples like the one that Prof. van Cottem has send to me recently. It is about a community group called Buklod Tao Inc. in the Philippines who take container farming to a larger community level which is fascinating. They use tetra packs as containers, called tetra pots. Please see the links and what the videos. www.facebook.com/BuklodTao

See inspiring video:

Here is also a blog