Portable Ecosan Toilet Design

Page selection:
  • Katie40
  • Topic Author

Re: Portable Ecosan Toilet Design

Hello. Christian, thanks for your response, I would love to introduce myself a little more. I am a Masters student at the Technical University of Hamburg in Germany, and I designed the toilet as a part of my project work. When I evaluated the current approaches to excreta disposal in disaster relief and looked for opportunities for ecosan to be applied, I realized that there is a large need for a household, portable toilet that can be used at night safely and comfortably. The Terra Preta Sanitation concept which has been researched at my university (see the attachment below for more info). This technology, along with the portable design presented, allows for odor control and the product of a fertile soil additive. Other models have been developed using the concept, but I have not yet made a prototype for my design. I plan to make a prototype in the next few months and test in a community garden or at the university. I will keep you updated as I learn more. Please feel free to ask any other questions you may have.

This message has an attachment file.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • christian.rieck

Re: Portable Ecosan Toilet Design

Dear Katie,
Thanks for sharing your design for portable toilets. I can see the many advantages of this design and terra preta concept but also the tricky points e.g. supply of bacteria, charchoal powder or risk of false operation of the toilet by the users. Do you have developed a proper prototype yet that you can share a pictures of? Any plans to implement your concept in a demonstration project yet?

It would be great if you could shortly introduce yourself to the forum.

Best regards,
Christian
GIZ Uganda
Enhanced Water Security and Sanitation (ENWASS)
Sanitation for Millions