Assessing demand for decentralised wastewater treatment in India

Page selection:
  • vramesh
    Topic Author
  • I'm a master's student (Infrastructure and Environmental Engineering) at Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden. I'm interested in working with affordable decentralized wastewater treatment solutions.

Re: Assessing demand for decentralised wastewater treatment in India

Hi Dean,

I think I understand the context of your post better now. I agree with you on the importance of the literature review and learning from past experiences. I will take your opinion into account. It makes a lot of sense. Thank you.

Best regards,
Vasanth.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • goeco
  • Self employed innovator with an interest in wastewater treatment systems and recycling of nutrients

Hi Vasanth,
I'm not sure if you understood my question. As a student I'm sure you do understand the need for a comprehensive literature review. I'm asking you whether you are certain that the experiment you are conducting either has novelty, or is something new and useful to human kind. Could you do it better by looking closely at what others are doing? Take the time to consider this... many think they have struck on something novel but in their enthusiasm usually don't realise they are repeating what others have already done. Vermifiltration has huge potential for sanitation and there are many in India and around the world trying different ideas and approaches to this "new" technology. You might be able to make a bigger difference if you ask the right questions first and seek input from those with experience.
cheers
Dean
Dean Satchell, M For. Sc.
Vermifilter.com
www.vermifilter.com

• Orchha
  • We have a home-stay in Orchha, Central India, where we have built Ecosan toilets. I now live in Almora on the Nepal border where Green Hills is promoting environment-friendly solid waste management.

Dear Vasant,