Costing data for condominium sewers? - Question from Kenya

Page selection:
  • kevintayler
  • I am a water and sanitation engineer, also interested in general urban housing issues. In recent years, I have worked on FSM for various organizations

Re: Costing data for condominium sewer

HI Edna

Good to know that my comments were useful. I did not mention treatment. It is interesting that both the examples that you give, from Kisumu and Malindi, have connections from several households to a shared chamber and that, in the Malindi case, discharge is to a tank that is basically a septic tank followed by a soakaway. It is also interesting that it has never been desludged - which is something that seems to be quite common.

One thing that I would stress is the importance of ensuring that the sewer acts as a closed conduit with no unwanted solids getting into it. From that point of view, the manhole/chamber cover design is really important. The other point is that it is important to provide traps on connections. Otherwise, there may be problems with rats and other pests.

I am attaching a couple of notes that I produced many years ago, which might be useful.

Best regards

Kevin
This attachment is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.
Kevin Tayler
Independent water and sanitation consultant
Horsham
UK

This message has attachments files.
Please log in or register to see it.

The following user(s) like this post: gustavo

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • edna
    Topic Author

Hi Kevin,

This is really helpful, you actually nailed on what we were looking out for. We already developed the design and BOQ of course considering the Kenyan context but it also varies from one city to another. Should anything arise up i will surely keep in touch with you.

Thanks,
Edinah
Young water professional with developed interest on strategic sanitation planning and service provision and innovation systems in developing countries.