Faecal sludge and septage treatment - A guide for low- and middle-income countries

Page selection:
  • kevintayler
    Topic Author
  • I am a water and sanitation engineer, also interested in general urban housing issues. In recent years, I have worked on FSM for various organizations

Re: Faecal sludge and septage treatment - A guide for low- and middle-income countries

Hi Elisabeth

I will try to find time to look at the Wikipedia article over the next couple of weeks. I have a report to get out this week so I am unlikely to be able to start before Monday but will aim to look at it then

Best regards
Kevin
Kevin Tayler
Independent water and sanitation consultant
Horsham
UK

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Elisabeth
  • Freelance consultant since 2012 (former roles: program manager at GIZ and SuSanA secretariat, lecturer, process engineer for wastewater treatment plants)

Re: Faecal sludge and septage treatment - A guide for low- and middle-income countries

Thanks, Kevin!
We have put Kevin's book also into the SuSanA library here:
www.susana.org/en/knowledge-hub/resource...library/details/3439

I have already used it myself to look up a couple of things and each time I easily found what I was looking for. So I think it's a good new, practical resource. Thanks for making it open access, too.*

My next step would be (if I had more time) to scour through his book and see which parts can be used to improve the level of detail and sourcing in the Wikipedia article on FSM:
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fecal_sludge_management

So far, I have cited his book there once like this:

Co-treatment of septage at wastewater treatment plants is the method of choice for cities where almost all households have access to sewerage. In those situations the volume of septage is small in comparison with that of wastewater.[21]:6