FSM Pilot Project in south Brazil - to design and build septage treatment plants

Page selection:
  • vitorhfdiogo
    Topic Author
  • Environmental Engineer - Wastewater Projects - CORSAN

Re: FSM Pilot Project in south Brazil

Dear Alexandra

Thank you so much for your reply!

You surely did answer all my questions

Your work is really inspiring.
If you ever have some other results I would really appreciate if you could share with us!

Best regards

Vitor

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • AlexandraDubois
  • Administrator
  • Technical advisor specialized in water, sanitation and hygiene. I work for GIZ since 2012 and have gathered experience in the sub-Saharan region mainly. Since January 2022, I work as an advisor for the “Water Policy Sector Programme - Innovations for Resilience” in Bonn and I am part of the SuSanA secretariat.

Dear Vitor

Unfortunately we did not do any tests on nutrients and pathogens. Those tests will be carried out by the Water Utilities which are in charge of the maintenance of the plant. I will share as soon as theses results are available. There is quite a large range in terms of faecal sludge quality, it is possible that the one we have tested was on the low end of the scale, knowing that the tested DTF is located in a medium town close to Nairobi where the ratio septic tanks/pit latrines is higher than in small towns. We did not run any tests on the faecal sludge quality before designing the DTF, but used figures from literature and previous experience from the experts in charge of the design. The DTF is a facility which is paired to the construction of pour flush toilets (with septic tank), therefore the sludge quality which was considered is not the one for the thick (almost waterless) sludge from pit latrines. I hope I managed to answer all your question.

Best regards
Alexandra
Alexandra Dubois

Technical Advisor
Sector Programme Water Policy – Innovations for Resilience