Standardizing candle water filters for production per country in Sub-Saharan Africa, or elsewhere

Page selection:
  • reidharvey7734
    Topic Author
  • I am a ceramic industrial designer focused on environmental health and development. Ceramics is ideally suited to addressing the urgent needs of low-income communities and countries. Those embracing ceramic developments will industrialize, gaining resilience and self-sufficiency.

Standardizing candle water filters for production per country in Sub-Saharan Africa, or elsewhere

Greetings All,

De-colonizing WASH interventions might suggest that people are doing these for themselves, not dependent on external resources. Producing and implementing candle water filters can be remarkably simple almost anywhere, depending primarily on existing human and natural resources. What is primarily needed is capacity building.

The production of monolithic ceramic water filters, e.g., candle filters, is incredibly simple, and needs to be standardized. A clay composition consisting of powders of clay and charcoal can be formed by potters into the candles, then dried and fired, giving a porous ceramic for good flow rates. End caps for the candles can be fired clay or plastic. Once these candle filters are giving consistent flow rates they should be treated with aqueous silver. Key to success is good record keeping throughout the development and production.

The candles need to be fired for a second time, at the low temperature of 550C, in order to burn off what is not silver, that other constituent of the silver compound or the dispersant, in order to burn this off and bond the silver metal to the ceramic. With attention to proper procedure the resulting candle filters will reduce pathogens to the highest standard, e.g., log 6 reduction (99.9999% effectiveness) and should last for at least ten years. There is a serious need to standardize the production of candle filters.