Urine Disposal? - Renovating a public urinal maintained and built by a slum settlement in India

Page selection:
  • AjitSeshadri
  • Marine Chief Engineer by profession (1971- present) and at present Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, Chennai, India. Also proficient in giving Environmental solutions , Designation- Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Head- Environment, The Vigyan Vijay Foundation, NGO, New Delhi, INDIA , Consultant located at present at Chennai, India

Re: Urine Disposal? - Renovating a public urinal maintained and built by a slum settlement in India

Dear Muench,

Re: Waterless urinals and their management in Indian scenario.

We need to keep the fitments and accessories simple and basic.
It is needed to be operated and maintained by low-tech skill persons.
At best, all fitments are needed for fail safe flow, masonary fittings, to be robust and only needs cleaning Etc.

Flush water is not available at all locations, only self- clean and minimal water for pan clearing is there. say 1-2 lit per use,
When 5- 10 lit per use are applied, then it is better BOD on effluent - around 500ppm +

As suggested, it is best to have grey water admixed with urine from dry- urinals and duly treated naturally.

Thanks for giving my reference on one of the Community projects applying DEWATS Treatment.

We have observed that the devices put up get sustained when communities use all these wastes as resources and are gainfully used.

The above notings are issued to provide on-site inferences for social and environmental good.

Well wishes.

Prof Ajit Seshadri.
Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, and
Head-Environment , VigyanVijay Foundation, Consultant (Water shed Mngmnt, WWT, WASH, others)Located at present at Chennai, India

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Elisabeth