Clean cookstoves need simple ceramic insulation - and capacity building of potters in Africa

Page selection:
  • reidharvey7734
    Topic Author
  • I am a ceramic industrial designer focused on environmental health and development. Ceramics is ideally suited to addressing the urgent needs of low-income communities and countries. Those embracing ceramic developments will industrialize, gaining resilience and self-sufficiency.

Re: Clean cookstoves need simple ceramic insulation - and capacity building of potters in Africa

Hi Elisabeth,

Here’s a link to the website that I put together five years ago of the small stove project in Kibondo District, Tanzania, but I haven’t visited this in two years or so:   tzenvirohealth.wixsite.com/tzenvirohealth   Shown here is the top of the stove that I had told you about, that brought 25 liters of water to a rapid boil in 10 or 15 minutes, using only a bucket of sticks.  Following also, is a screenshot I’ve pasted in of the same, the top of this stove, but I’ve been reluctant to share this picture because it is two sides of a mirror image.  The stove is so large that I couldn’t get up high enough to take one picture of the inside.  I had to hold my phone camera over my head to take the picture, but this does represent the actual appearance of the inside of the stove.