Advice Request - Gulper, Excrevator, or eVac for small flow FSM projects in IDP camps in Myanmar

Page selection:
  • dandreatta
  • I am a mechanical engineer and work for a consulting company. I do projects around water, cookstoves, and sanitation in my spare time.

Re: Small Scale FSM at $1 per Family Per Month - Project Concept for Myanmar

As usual, I'm a week behind in my Susana reading.

Jamie Radford posted something above that he was going to try to clog my Sludge Digger. If the sludge is VERY thick it won't drop out of the bucket when the bucket is dumped. That's probably the only way to clog a Sludge Digger.

Jamie, I looked carefully at the photographs of sludge of various strengths that you posted a couple weeks ago. As best I can tell, my Sludge Digger will work up to a sludge strength of 2000 Pa. Is there a simple way to test this? I suspect that I might be low in my estimate of 2000 Pa, and if so I'd like to know this. I could probably build a cone penetrometer, but this would take some work. Are there any videos of sludge of various strengths? Can one do some sort of slump test? Is there a relationship between sludge strength and angle of repose?

As an update, I'm working on a version of the Sludge Digger that is all-metal for increased durability (except possibly for the handle and rope). Also, some of the clearances are tightened up for a more solid feel. My colleagues who are metalurgical engineers say that in high Ph lime stabilized sludge ordinary steel (not stainless) should work well. Time and testing will tell.

Dale
Dale Andreatta, Ph.D., P.E.
Mechanical Engineer

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • RadfordJT
  • Civil engineer with a particular interest in sanitation and faecal sludge management.

Re: Advice Request - Gulper, Excrevator, or eVac for small flow FSM projects in IDP camps in Myanmar

Dale,