Sludge pumps with better valves?

18.6k views

Page selection:
  • dandreatta
    Topic Author
  • I am a mechanical engineer and work for a consulting company. I do projects around water, cookstoves, and sanitation in my spare time.

Re: Sludge pumps with better valves-Progress in 2019

Andrew and others,

Thanks for the compliment, I'm mostly happy about the way the pump worked out.

Everything was 4-inch in size, the piston, valves, and tubing. Anything smaller and I'm concerned it won't pass the hard trash, anything larger and I'm concerned the inlet tube won't fit into the squatting hole.

If I were to do it again, I'd make the piston 3-inch, since pumping up from 1 meter gets rather hard, even if you are only doing it for a few minutes. Probably no further mechanical advantage would be needed.

The valves are available at pvcpipesupplies.com, and they come in a variety of sizes, clear and white body, threaded body or socket body. The 4-inch plastic hose barbs were not easy to find either, they are from www.spears.com.

As for grit wearing the cylinder, it would seem that simply replacing the pipe would be an option. I've not seen that issue, though my pump hasn't seen all that much usage.

As for future plans, I think it will take more time, effort, and resources than I have to develop this pump to a point where it's really ready to use. What I'd like to do is pass it off to people who have those resources. Of course I'm always happy to share what I've learned.

Dale
Dale Andreatta, Ph.D., P.E.
Mechanical Engineer

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • awhitesell
  • Developer of WASH technology

Hi Dale,

Thanks for posting. What size pipe are you using for the cylinder and up to the valves? Can you provide manufacturer information about the valves? I'm looking forward to hearing more about the pump as testing continues. Do you have a test plan/strategy?