Composting toilets do not produce compost - true or false? And is "composting toilet" a misnomer?

102k views

• bowenarrow

Re: Which composting toilet to choose - recommendations, please?

I would consider this post as advertising, something I would have thought was not permitted on these pages.
Ross

+++++++++
Comment by moderator (EvM):
Geoff's post is deemed to be acceptable, see also here: forum.susana.org/241-composting-toilets-...let-a-misnomer#27525 and here: forum.susana.org/39-miscellaneous-any-ot...-allow-on-this-forum
The following user(s) like this post: Carol McCreary

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • geoffbhill
  • Topic Author
  • Dr. Hill Waterless human waste researcher Toilet Tech director Engineered Compost Systems director

During my Phd on the topic of waterless human waste management at the University of British Columbia (Vancouver BC) I studied for 3 years on composting toilet performance. I sampled waste from dozens of conventional (mixed waste + wood bulking agent) composting toilet units of all manufacturers in North America, including Phoenix, Sun Mar, Clivus, and others. ZERO of them produced anything that resembled compost or fit the definition of compost. Some of the units were installed in fully insulated and heated buildings like the CKChoi building, which was operated by trained and dedicated personnel. Material was too wet, not stabilized, had high ammonia, brewed pathogens, and looked and smelled like raw waste.

The peer reviewed paper is published in Journal of Environmental Management.
www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23435183

If anyone has data to show that a composting toilet makes compost, I'd be excited to see it and review it. Here is the data that is necessary to prove that a composting toilet makes compost