Nualgi - Diatom Algae - Case Study of use in an underground membrane bioreactor sewage treatment plant for 1200 apartments in Bangalore, India

Page selection:
  • Bhaskar
    Topic Author
  • Clean technology promoter

Re: Nualgi - Diatom Algae - Case Study of use in an underground membrane bioreactor sewage treatment plant for 1200 apartments in Bangalore, India

1. do you need Nualgi?
2. Are diatoms + light (2.6% of the energy that would otherwise be used for aeration) really a substitute for mechanical aeration?

The case study was posted to answer these questions in the affirmative.
You will understand only if you use Nualgi.
Theoretical debates are not of much use.
Clean technology promoter.

I am working on a clean technology product to grow Diatom Algae in large waterways. Diatoms account for about 25% of all photosynthesis on Earth and hence are the best solution to consume CO2, N and P and oxygenate water and feed fish.

I am a Chartered Accountant but am now an entrepreneur focussed on clean technology.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • goeco
  • Self employed innovator with an interest in wastewater treatment systems and recycling of nutrients

Re: Nualgi - Diatom Algae - Case Study of use in an underground membrane bioreactor sewage treatment plant for 1200 apartments in Bangalore, India

I'm not convinced the product is proven in this case. Wastewater is high in nutrients and unlike seawater which is iron and phosphate deficient, nutrient deficiency in wastewater would not seem to me to be an issue requiring "supplementation" with Nualgi. Yes indeed, sewage is "high nutrition" (for plants) and is INITIALLY low in chlorophyll. Put it in the sun and it won't be for long.