Ideas of sustainable sanitation and sustainable agriculture as a package

Page selection:
  • AjitSeshadri
  • Marine Chief Engineer by profession (1971- present) and at present Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, Chennai, India. Also proficient in giving Environmental solutions , Designation- Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Head- Environment, The Vigyan Vijay Foundation, NGO, New Delhi, INDIA , Consultant located at present at Chennai, India

Re: Promote VERMIFILTRATION Technology for WASTEWATER PURIFICATION by EARTHWORMS to produce clean water

Dear Heiner.

I am thrilled to note your enthusiasm, ie you wish to connect sanitation with plant production.

Its possible, here we look at 2 types of scenario ie one in which human sludges are released into open in dry solid form and another in which each volume of human faeces is mixed with toilet flush water ie 1: 5 ltr to 15 ltr. in wc mode.

It is the former which is tough to tackle/ digest or get it composted to usable manure form ready for agri farm use.

When these human sludges are ad-mixed with bio mass ex market , agri or house hold waste, or cattle dung, then it is easily composted to manure form.

One needs to note that worms in vermi composting process need the bio- matter in semi cooked form and never can raw matter be fed to them.

In the raw stage, it is anaerobic and a bit warm too and not congenial for worms to survive and work to digest the resource matter.

When you observe a pit in which vermi composting is progressed, it will be seen that worms after consuming all the nutrient matter go over to newer ( raw) portion in the vermi bed.
The process happens for 2 to 3 weeks.

It is when, all worms are gone, its a sign to say that now compost is nearly ready for last process of curing and maturing done in about 2 - 3 days.

Now ready to use compost is removed and kept dried bagged for future use.

In the other STP having waste water with sewage and sullage, one needs to use a STP with process.