Pit emptying (Gulper and others)

27.8k views

Page selection:
  • FrancisdelosReyes
  • I am a professor and environmental engineer at NC State University, USA. I am interested in wastewater treatment, WASH, microbial ecology.

Re: Small scale pit emptying using manual and machine

Mana, please contact me by email- perhaps we can try out the auger in Ethiopia.

Francis
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

++++++++++
Note by moderator (EvM): Just for everyone's information in case you don't know yet: you can contact anyone on the forum by e-mail if you click on the CONTACT button that is below the person's photo on the left of the post. This button is only visible after logging in because this service is only available to logged-in users.
Francis de los Reyes III
Professor/TED Fellow

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Elisabeth
  • Freelance consultant since 2012 (former roles: program manager at GIZ and SuSanA secretariat, lecturer, process engineer for wastewater treatment plants)

Re: Captiva Africa-Water for People Launch Gulper Technology

For those who have been "watching this space" since Dave's last post on 19 March 2013 (scrol up), the test results are now available here on the forum:
forum.susana.org/forum/categories/99-fae...nd-south-africa#4254
(please continue the discussion there)

It's about the work of Tate Rogers and others from North Carolina State University who have tested their hydraulically powered auger to empty pit latrines near Pietermaritzburg in South Africa.
Dr. Elisabeth von Muench
Freelance consultant on environmental and climate projects
Located in Ulm, Germany
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
My Wikipedia user profile: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User:EMsmile
LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/elisabethvonmuench/
The following user(s) like this post: Doreen

• Dave