Looking for technology or method for pretreatment of slaughterhouse wastewater to reduce pathogens

25.5k views

Page selection:
  • Atabong89
    Topic Author
  • A motivated and dedicated Ph.D. student in the field of Water and Sanitation precisely Wastewater management. I believe sub-Saharan Africa needs more than ever solutions adapted to their socio-economic context.

Re: Inquiry

Thanks to you all.

The wastewater here is principally constituted of blood. I agree also with Dean on vermifilters. In the context of Cameroon, most of the biodegradable solid wastes produced during the process are mostly used to enrich food for livestock by farmers.

During my Msc I studied the impact of this slaughterhouse wastewater and I quantified the amount produced.

Yaounde the capital city of Cameroon has one main slaughterhouse, Livestock Development Cooperation (LDC) that slaughters about 40,000-50,000 cattle head per year, then uses an average of 70,000,000 liters of water and produces about 6,000m3 of effluent per year, discharging this raw effluent into the Ako'o watercourse that drains into the Mfoundi main river line of Yaounde due to non-functional and abandoned wastewater treatment plant set up after independence. Similarly, the Mvog-Ada informal slaughterhouse among several informal slaughterhouses in the markets of Yaounde generates and discharges about 20m3/month of wastewater from pig slaughtering into the Ewo’e watercourse without any treatment. The slaughterhouse wastewater from LCD was found to contain 4.2×106 CFU/100mL, 1.1×106 CFU/100mL and 2.2×106 CFU/100mL of total coliforms, Salmonella and fecal streptococci respectively while the informal slaughterhouse of Mvog-Ada, Yaounde was found to contain about 1.9×106 CFU/100 mL of fecal coliforms and 6.1×105 CFU/100 mL of fecal streptococci.

So, it is really according to me a serious issue that needs to be addressed and low-cost technology will be ideal for implementation
ATABONG PAUL AGENDIA
Junior Researcher