Emerging issues of Sanitation Workers and Manual Scavengers

30k views

Page selection:
  • AjitSeshadri
  • Marine Chief Engineer by profession (1971- present) and at present Faculty in Marine Engg. Deptt. Vels University, Chennai, India. Also proficient in giving Environmental solutions , Designation- Prof. Ajit Seshadri, Head- Environment, The Vigyan Vijay Foundation, NGO, New Delhi, INDIA , Consultant located at present at Chennai, India

Re: Emerging issues of Sanitation Workers and Manual Scavengers

Dear SuSANA Members,

I feel pleased that certain points raised by me on the  Emerging issues of Sanitation Workers and Manual Scavengers, and their working and living conditions, have been brought out well by Esteemed Susana Member - Ar. Paresh.
Main points that have been mentioned by Member,  are 5 Nos. and need a detailed review by the Authorities and other communities:

Mentioning them in this summation, will make the information detailed and  become complete; 
1.  Low wages, PPE not made available by contractors
   A lot needs to be done, in bringing awareness and participation in communities, to place these works done by sanitation workere at a premium, more so to be held at par with jobs done by Electrical Technicians and others. 
The jobs to be done under care and supervision by approved contractor, with the use of PPEs and safety practices Etc. 

2.  Lose job if they talk to reporters, let them take pictures.
The work needs to be done in the open, like all other civic cleaning work Etc.  If necessary rules and guidelines are not followed, then the concerned are reprimanded and rules followed.

3.  Caste-based discrimination in schools --> dropouts
This needs to be done with more care, as it deals with communities that have been doing this works for many years. However, due respect and regard is to be ensured given and education and others are allowed to be given without any discrimination Etc. If done, duly the defaulters are penalized.