Going to scale: An introduction to this discussion and an invitation to engage

37.4k views

Page selection:
  • suvojitc
    Topic Author
  • I am a development professional with over ten years' experience in Kenya, India, UK and Ghana. I have provided technical and M&E support to the implementation of development projects. My interests are in policy analysis and studying implementation (partic

Re: Going to scale: An introduction to this discussion and an invitation to engage

Thanks a lot, Roland for the comments. I got a bit lost on the ministry/department ownership bit - are you suggesting that MoH should be in charge? If not, will another inter-departmental coordinating body be able to play an effective role? I am not sure I would blindly recommend that the MoH take the lead, since it depends on mandate, capacity constraints, etc - but I would caution against leaving water and sanitation in the hands of engineers (again, not sure that is what you have in mind!)

Great to see also, the focus on financing for equity. The danger of advocating a zero-subsidy approach is that equity might be sacrificed when people are satisfied with incremental coverage (that may be stalled indefinitely, at times).

Also, I am based in Nairobi - would be great to catch up any time!
Suvojit Chattopadhyay,
Monitoring and Evaluation Advisor
Adam Smith International
Nairobi, Kenya
The following user(s) like this post: TraceyKeatman

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Nivedita

Re: Going to scale: An introduction to this discussion and an invitation to engage

Hi,