Testing of new pit latrine designs? - Participatory design, corbelled pit latrines - Mzuzu University, Malawi

12.2k views

Page selection:
  • AlexandraDubois
  • Administrator
  • Technical advisor specialized in water, sanitation and hygiene. I work for GIZ since 2012 and have gathered experience in the sub-Saharan region mainly. Since January 2022, I work as an advisor for the “Water Policy Sector Programme - Innovations for Resilience” in Bonn and I am part of the SuSanA secretariat.

Re: Testing of new pit latrine designs? - Participatory design with corbelled pit latrines, Mzuzu University, Malawi

Thank you Rochelle

I understood (from some parallel discussions) that the corbelled latrine is in fact not suitable for unstable ground (such as sandy or loamy soil). You have directed me towards the technology of lining pits with sand bags and I will now look more towards this direction. If anyone (SuSanA members) has any type of material (construction, training, publication) to share with regards to the sand bag lining solution, please let me know.

All the best
Alexandra Dubois

Technical Advisor
Sector Programme Water Policy – Innovations for Resilience
Division Climate Change, Environment & Infrastructure

GIZ │Deutsche Gesellschaft für
Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 32
53113 Bonn, Germany

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • rochelleholm
    Topic Author

Re: Testing of new pit latrine designs? - Participatory design with corbelled pit latrines, Mzuzu University, Malawi

Dear Alexandra,
We have found that simply handing over our manual doesn’t work well for the corbelled latrine, quality assurance is critical in this technology and hands-on training for masons.

But, we do offer a short course with a focus on building a corbelled pit latrine, and includes our art-based manual.

Low-cost sanitation (3 full days)