Low-cost UDDTs in Adjumani, Northern Uganda - supported via surcharge on water bill

Page selection:
  • HAPitot
    Topic Author
  • Environmental engineer with a passion for low cost and resource recovery issues in sanitation

Re: News from Adjumani, Uganda

Dear all,

Let me take this opportunity to introduce Simon Icheanyi to you. He is the one who has been acting as private operator for the sludge treatment and the composting facilities in Adjumani. And he is also the one standing next to me in my profile photo.
Simon is an agronomist by training and a farmer and businessman by profession. He is operating the only cesspool emptying truck in Adjumani, and as such, he was almost predestinated to serve the municipality as a private operator of the two facilities. Most importantly, he is doing it out of real enthusiasm for the environment – a characteristic rarely seen in upcountry towns. He has really tried his best to operationalize these two facilities.
The problem has been a lack of real, practical support from the town administration, lack of maintenance of the access roads in particular (in spite of a contractual obligation to maintain the roads). Roads have been neglected to the point that the composting facility had to be closed down and that customers are staying away from the sludge treatment facility. The coordination with regard to the collection of market waste has also been poor.
That is not to say that individual officers in the administration are not environmentally minded. The Mayor, for example, is organizing ‘keep Adjumani clean’ events once in a month, and the Community Development Officer is also very enthusiastic about the environment (whose toilet is one of those depicted in the 2nd album). However, in practical terms, not enough has been done to support Simon with the two facilities.