How to Design Wastewater Systems for Local Conditions in Developing Countries

18k views

Page selection:
  • F H Mughal
  • Senior Water and Sanitation Engineer

Re: How to Design Wastewater Systems for Local Conditions in Developing Countries

Dear Kevin,

That is a very interesting and useful report. It is sad that Punjab government did not take any action. It is, in fact, a guidance manual, specific to our local conditions. Because of some similarities, the report would be useful for friends in India, as well. I see, you have been to Sukkur, Larkana and other northern Sindh towns.

Where can I find the report of Indian Central Pollution Control Board, you have referred to?

Regards,

F H Mughal
F H Mughal (Mr.)
Karachi, Pakistan

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • kevintayler
  • I am a water and sanitation engineer, also interested in general urban housing issues. In recent years, I have worked on FSM for various organizations

Re: How to Design Wastewater Systems for Local Conditions in Developing Countries

A quick follow-up on Christoph's email. His basic calculations confirm the point about the pond being overloaded - there is no way that a facultative pond could work with such a short retention time. The sewage strength was probably slightly lower than assumed by his 54gm BOD per capita per day (for some reason Indian wastewater is very weak). However, this does not alter the main conclusions.

I have found a couple of pieces of information that may be interesting and am sending them as attachments. One provides a list of WWTPs constructed under the Yamuna Action Plan with design capacities. The second is one of the Japanese university reports that I mentioned. I do have some other relevant reports and will try to sort out the best ones
Kevin Tayler
Independent water and sanitation consultant
Horsham
UK

This message has attachments files.
Please log in or register to see it.

• christoph