The Sludge Digger (a device I’ve developed for emptying pit latrines, septic tanks, and similar tanks) New Video

Page selection:
  • psewor

Re: Develop new innovation for pit latrine emptying in peri-urban Mzuzu (Malawi)

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your innovation

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • dandreatta
    Topic Author
  • I am a mechanical engineer and work for a consulting company. I do projects around water, cookstoves, and sanitation in my spare time.

Re: Fecal Sludge Management and Pit Emptying (Mzuzu, Malawi)

Hajo,

I wanted to do a few more tests before responding to your second question.

If working under a ceiling, if the pit depth is only a little greater than the ceiling height (and therefore the handle length is a little greater than the ceiling height) it is possible to angle the handle so that it doesn't hit the ceiling. You need to hold the handle and the rope in just the right way, but this is easy to figure out. To dump the bucket you would need to go outside so that you can lift the bucket and the handle, but hopefully the room is only small and it's only a couple steps to the outside.

If the pit is much deeper than the ceiling height, then you can use a 2-piece hinged handle as seen in my youtube video. In that situation I was working over a railing and it was very slow, but with no railing and a little practice, it would be much faster.

Regarding your first question, the intention in not to have the bucket fit down through the squatting hole. Typically, the bucket will be about 22 cm, and the handle adds a couple cm, so the hole needs to be about 24 cm. My intention is to keep men from going down into pits, so any hole into which they could go is already more than big enough. Clearly my Sludge Digger is not a universal solution, but should be useful in many places.