Discussion on 'fishing' of rubbish from pit latrines

Page selection:
  • FrancisdelosReyes
  • I am a professor and environmental engineer at NC State University, USA. I am interested in wastewater treatment, WASH, microbial ecology.

Re: Lively discussion on 'fishing' of rubbish from pit latrines at WEDC

Hi all,

Fishing is something that has been on our minds.

Below is a paper that attempts to look at how to deal with trash. I would say that since we submitted this paper, we have formulated a new approach which we described at FSM4 in Chennai. I will discuss that in a later post.

washdev.iwaponline.com/content/7/1/85

Trash removal methods for improved mechanical emptying of pit latrines using a screw auger

Tracey Sisco, Tate Rogers, Walt Beckwith, Willy Chipeta, Rochelle Holm, Christopher A. Buckley, Francis L. de los Reyes
Published March 2017, 7 (1) 85-91; DOI: 10.2166/washdev.2017.106
Abstract