FYI: "Successful" R&D on ABRs at WWTPs in Northern Ireland and Southern California by UK based company Atkins?

Page selection:
  • kelldigest

Re: FYI: "Successful" R&D on ABRs at WWTPs in Northern Ireland and Southern California by UK based company Atkins?

Just to clarify. The size of plants is 10 p.e. to 80,000 p.e.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • kelldigest

Re: FYI: "Successful" R&D on ABRs at WWTPs in Northern Ireland and Southern California by UK based company Atkins?

Elisabeth,

I work in the wastewater industry in Ireland and have operated WWTP and AD Plant from 10 to 80,000 p.e in size.*

Our systems are very energy hungry and I would like to promote low energy treatment systems.

ABR looks like a good option but for larger scale operations you would need a low energy way of removing ammonia. For discharges to water courses, ammonia is often the limiting nutrient in discharge licences.

I will post some thoughts on the thread you suggested.
This forum is new to me and I find it exciting to have people to share ideas with.

Kind Regards
Seamus Kelly

* Note by moderator: For novices: WWTP = wastewater treatment plant, AD = Anaerobic digestion, p.e. = person equivalent (sometimes also called EP or equivalent persons)

• Elisabeth
  • Freelance consultant since 2012 (former roles: program manager at GIZ and SuSanA secretariat, lecturer, process engineer for wastewater treatment plants)

Dear Seamus,

Yes, there is ammonia in the effluent from ABRs (anaerobic baffled reactors). But they are not normally connected to activated sludge plants, rather to a constructed wetland or to reuse activities.

I think you will find this thread interesting where we discussed ammonia in the effluent from ABRs:
forum.susana.org/forum/categories/35-bio...sed-treatment-plants

(any particular reason why you ask? Welcome to the forum!)

Regards,
Elisabeth
Dr. Elisabeth von Muench
Freelance consultant on environmental and climate projects